Other - G-8, G-20 and UN

The Group of Eight (G8) and Group of Twenty (G20) are forums where governments gather to discuss global economic issues. The G8 is made up of the eight most powerful countries in the world - Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States. The G7 met annually for two decades until Russia was invited to participate in 1994.

The G20 was set up after the Asian financial crisis and includes the G8 countries, plus many emerging market economies. The European Union, the IMF and the World Bank are also counted as part of the G20.

Both forums are undemocratic and secretive. The institutions largely controlled by the G8 - the World Bank and the IMF - implement the policy decisions agreed at these fora, decisions that effectively steer the global economy.

We have also worked to influence the outcomes of the United Nations conferences and summits. These provide an opportunity to call on governments to fundamentally transform the international financial system and its institutions.

We work to:

  • promote alternatives to the current global financial architecture (GFA), including the Tobin Tax, comprehensive debt cancellation, democratic governance of the global economy, including its key institutions, the World Bank, the IMF and export credit agencies;
  • press for the World Bank and IMF to become more accountable to the broader United Nations system;
  • hold events to educate Canadians about these fora and related issues.

General Resources

G8, G20 and UN -Related

G8/G20 in Canada in 2010